About The Mill
Visit the last remaining mill on the South Nation River and discover how the Spencerville Mill adapted from a flour and grist mill serving the community’s needs to a feed mill serving local farmers and feed stores throughout south eastern Ontario.
By the early 1900s the single roller mill was being used to crush oats for poultry and livestock feed. When the turbine is running this roller mill operates for display purposes. The milling artifacts displayed are all original to the Spencerville Mill.
In the 1930s Spencerville, with a population of approximately 250, was a thriving community. Among its businesses were a railway depot, bus stop, a doctor, dentist, bank, post office, barber, blacksmith, tinsmith, two garages, and five general stores to serve the surrounding agricultural community.
The lower level remains much as it was when the mill ceased operating in 1972. The 1934 Charles Barber 110 horse power turbine restored in 2007 operates on a regular schedule.
Exhibits have been developed in the lower level to reflect local trades such as cobbler and cheese making. More exhibits are in development throughout the Mill.
The Mill offers a broad range special events throughout the year showcasing local artisans, musicians and other talents. Beginning in May with the Canoe Poker Run and culminating with Christmas at the Mill in late November. These fundraising events make the Mill a fun and lively place to visit.
The park is an ideal place to relax and enjoy a picnic or take-out from a village eatery. The Spencerville Mill & Museum is a perfect site to begin a leisurely canoe or kayak trip up river.
Explore the village of Spencerville with a self-guided walking tour. An illustrated brochure and map , available at the Mill, will direct you to 27 sites of historic and architectural significance in the village.